Search Site
Menu
DUI

The state of Florida considers driving as a privilege, not a right. Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs considered proof that a person no longer deserves the privilege of driving. In an attempt to discourage drunk driving, Florida enforces harsh penalties, including:

  • Fines
  • Possible Jail Time
  • License Suspension
  • License Revocation

You should consult a reputable attorney immediately following a DUI charge. You may have a viable defense case, resulting from wrongly administered breath or blood tests, police errors or rights violations, faulty testing units or other possible factors. Allow me the opportunity to help reduce your stress regarding this matter and guide you through this difficult time.

DUI Penalties in Florida

First DUI Offense

  • Fine of $500 – $1,000
  • Jail sentence of up to 6 months or probation for up to a year
  • Mandatory 50 hours of community service
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days
  • License revocation for a minimum of 6 months

Second DUI Offense

  • Fine of $1,000 – $2,000
  • Jail sentence of up to 9 months
  • Minimum sentence of 10 days if convicted within 5 years of a first offense
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
  • License revocation for a minimum of 6 months
  • 5 years revocation if convicted within 5 years of first offense

Third DUI Offense

  • Fine of $1,000 – $2,500
  • Fine of $2,000 – $5,000 if convicted within 10 years first offense
  • Jail sentence of up to 12 months
  • Minimum sentence of 30 days if convicted within 10 years of first offense
  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days if convicted within 10 years of first offense
  • License revocation for 5 years
  • 10 year revocation if convicted within 10 years of first offense

Fourth DUI Offense

  • Minimum fine of $1,000
  • Jail sentence of up to 5 years
  • Mandatory permanent license revocation (not eligible for hardship license)

If you are convicted of three or more DUI’s within a 10 year period, you will face a felony conviction and possible prison time.

Florida Penalties for Felony DUIs

 Third DUI within 10 years, or a Fourth or Subsequent DUI

  • Third degree felony
  • fine of up to $5,000
  • Prison sentence of up to 5 years

 DUI with Injury

  • Third degree felony
  • Fine up to $5,000
  • Prison sentence of up to 5 years

 DUI Manslaughter

  • Second degree felony
  • Fine of up to $10.000
  • Prison sentence of up to 30 years

Under 21 DUI

Penalties for under 21 drivers on a first offense DUI include:

  • Fines
  • Mandatory 6 month license suspension
  • Mandatory alcohol education
  • Community service
  • Fine of up to $5,000

 

Testimonials
  • "James Barnes was straight forward, honest and a personality that stood out. Everyone respected him and said he was a great man and lawyer." - Google

  • "Smart, Professional, Confident and Dedicated: are just a few words that come to mind to describe Mr. Barnes. He is the BEST criminal defense attorney in the area." - Lawyers.com

  • "James R. Barnes is a man of the highest integrity, he exceeded all of my personal expectations deeming him a phenomenal attorney at law." - Google

  • "All eyes and ears are focused on Mr. Barnes when he is in the courtroom. He is well spoken and highly skilled." - Lawyers.com

Contact us

Quick Contact Form